Character AI review: free chat, account controls and service continuity
Character.AI costs, free messaging, memory pins, age assurance and the October 2026 sale announcement, explained for Canadian adults.
- Price / monthUS$9.99/mo prices shown before GST/HST, which depends on your province
- NSFWno · images no
- Voicecalls
- Age checkthird party
- PlatformsWeb, iOS, Android
In this article
- The operating service and the sale process are separate facts
- Scores by criterion
- Dates that matter
- What it looks like
- Read the billing term beside the currency
- Messages, memory tools, voices and character creation
- Age assurance does not change the content policy
- Account removal and verification records have different scopes
- Persona and the difference between estimation and verification
- Follow the original billing channel
- Dated findings need careful labels
- Match the account to the requirement
- What Reddit users say
18+ only. This comparison covers ordinary conversation with fictional adult characters.
Reviewing Character AI means keeping two things apart: the service as it runs today and whatever comes out of its announced sale. Before weighing that uncertainty against other products, get the basic allowances straight. A daily message counter, a small sample and a paid coin allocation are different commitments.
Nomi: a stated daily text quota
- Price / monthCA$12.99/mo
- Free tier50 msg/day
- NSFWyes
- Age checkself declaration
- PlatformsWeb, iOS
Nomi publishes 50 free messages a day, with free input capped at 400 characters. That allowance refills daily, unlike a one-time welcome sample. The free plan has no end date and needs no card. Without a subscription, voice becomes read-only, so the daily text quota is not a calling allowance. Nomi also states plainly that its service is not end-to-end encrypted.
Candy.ai: a short initial sample
- Price / month$13.99/mo
- NSFWyes
- Age checkself declaration
- PlatformsWeb
Candy.ai documents five chat messages across characters, one created character and one image, and does not mention a daily refill. That is a bounded sample. Paid Standard membership lists 100 monthly tokens, which sit outside the sample. Five messages can't show whether long-term recall or performance holds up, and the sample says nothing about a Canadian subscription price.
OurDream: a subscription and shared usage balance
- Price / monthUS$19.99/mo
- NSFWyes
- Age checkself declaration
- PlatformsWeb
OurDream Standard Monthly costs US$19.99 and includes 1,000 Dreamcoins. Ordinary paid text costs zero coins, while specified enhanced responses and voice calls use them. Calls are listed at 50 coins per minute. This is a paid accounting model, not a stand-in for a free daily counter. Its account-deletion help says deleting the account automatically cancels an active membership and takes 24 to 48 hours to process.
The operating service and the sale process are separate facts
Character.AI advertises unlimited free messages, though free users may land in a waiting room when the service is busy. The free plan includes 15 memory pins; Lite raises that to 30 and describes a daily premium-style allowance. A pin keeps selected information available. It is not a measured guarantee that the model will recall every earlier detail of a conversation.
The bigger dated fact is the company's 12 October 2026 announcement of a voluntary Chapter 11 court-supervised sale process. According to the announcement, the platform is operating and subscriptions continue to bill. Long-term continuation depends on a viable sale, and the platform would wind down without one. The service has not been announced as closed.
So the assessment has two parts: what the free and paid features say today, and what you commit to while continuity is conditional. Character.AI also prohibits pornographic content for all users, and neither an age check nor a subscription lifts that rule. The comparisons below cover ordinary fictional-character conversation and account management.
Scores by criterion
Full data. Scores are computed from each app's published terms, pricing, policies and store listings on the dates shown. We have not yet run paid test accounts; when we do, experience criteria will be added and the cap on the total score removed. Affiliate links never change a score. A score marked Full data rests on all eight criteria. Provisional means five to seven criteria could be scored from published facts. Limited data means only three or four criteria could be scored; such totals are capped at 3.5 and should be read as a floor, not a verdict. Apps with fewer than three scorable criteria get no total. Totals are weighted means of the scored criteria only and move when missing facts get documented. Full methodology
| Criterion | Score /5 | Basis |
|---|---|---|
| Pricing transparency | 4.0 | plans with confirmed currency; no token system |
| Free tier | 5.0 | unlimited free messages per published notes |
| Cancellation and refunds | 3.0 | cancellation steps documented |
| Content rules | 4.0 | public content rules; adult content opt-in or stated 18+ gate |
| Privacy | 4.0 | policy URL; deletion path documented |
| Age check | 5.0 | verification: third_party via Persona |
| Platforms and language | 5.0 | web, iOS, Android, English |
| Reputation | 3.0 | app_store 4.3; documented incident; regulator action |
Dates that matter
Article updated 2026-10-29. Product, price and policy evidence checked 2026-10-28. The company's sale announcement is dated 12 October 2026, and the Italian regulator decision discussed below is dated 3 July 2026.
What it looks like

Screenshots of the official pages, captured on the dates shown.
Read the billing term beside the currency
The Canadian store entries show local price displays, but two amounts under the same name don't tell you how long each one lasts. Calling the smaller Character.AI+ item monthly and the larger one yearly just because the numbers look like a familiar subscription pattern would be a guess. Keep the printed item name and the actual purchase term together.
The US-dollar c.ai+ monthly and annual figures are different commitments. The Lite FAQ starts the price at US$4.99 per month and says the amount varies by region. A Canadian buyer should check the full payment period, final currency and GST/HST in the purchase details rather than converting one global number into a supposed local offer.
The company says billing continues during the sale process, so the renewal channel still matters even if you use the account less while a decision is pending. To stop renewal, use the documented cancellation route. The corporate announcement does not cancel anything automatically.
A bigger paid allowance is also not a broader content permission. Lite lists 30 pins against the free plan's 15, and c.ai+ advertises priority access. Those are capacity and convenience features. They don't guarantee permanent availability, complete conversation recall or the removal of platform rules.
| Offer or store item | Published amount | Term or label | Important distinction |
|---|---|---|---|
| c.ai+ | US$9.99 | Monthly | Priority access and faster responses |
| c.ai+ | US$94.99 | Annual total | Annual commitment |
| (c.ai) lite | From US$4.99 | Monthly; region varies | 30 memory pins and fewer ads |
| Character.AI+ Canada Apple item | CA$12.99 | Visible item does not state duration | Not assigned a monthly term here |
| Character.AI+ Canada Apple item | CA$129.99 | Visible item does not state duration | Not assigned an annual term here |
| Character.AI Lite Canada Apple items | CA$2.99 and CA$6.99 | Visible items do not state duration | Check the purchase details for the offer and period |
Messages, memory tools, voices and character creation
The main access claim is unlimited free messaging. The FAQ also mentions a waiting room during high demand. A quota limits how many messages you can send; a waiting room limits when you can get in. A service can publish no daily cap and still make you wait, which matters when comparing it with a daily grant such as Nomi's 50 messages.
Memory pins draw a clearer feature line. The free plan has 15 and Lite has 30. c.ai+ includes a broader memory suite with private Lorebooks. These tools keep selected material available in different ways. Counting pins doesn't tell you whether a response will use the information correctly, and it is not a context-window measurement.
Lite also describes a daily allowance of premium-style functionality and fewer ads. The published description gives no numerical daily message quota for that allowance. The detailed usage view can help a subscriber read the allowance shown for their own account, but a vague premium label shouldn't be turned into a made-up number.
The official app listing describes live voice conversations and character creation, including community characters. The feature descriptions here attach no free voice-minute grant. A listed calling feature shows that it exists; a quota or price would answer a separate spending question. This review stays within fictional adults and non-explicit interaction.
Interface languages include English and French as well as German, Dutch and others. A translated interface covers navigation and labels. It says nothing measured about conversation quality in each listed language. The Character.AI alternatives guide compares products on concrete features such as memory controls, daily quotas and platform format, rather than assuming one feature count measures overall realism.
English and French labels can matter to a Canadian household, but the language of the controls and the quality of a generated answer in that language are different things. Likewise, the live voice listing shows the feature is described, not that it comes with a free-minute allowance or meets any measured pronunciation standard. When comparing an app listing with the account you use, be specific about the function you want.
Age assurance does not change the content policy
Character.AI's official content FAQ prohibits pornographic material, and that holds on both free and paid plans. Buying c.ai+ at US$9.99 per month, or Lite with its 30 pins, does not buy a way to remove the filter.
Age assurance decides whether an account gets an age-appropriate experience. It does not promise that every request becomes acceptable once an adult passes a check. Read the provider's age-assurance guidance and its separate prohibited-content rules as two conditions that both apply.
This comparison is limited to fictional adults, ordinary dialogue and consumer controls. A service that allows character creation still has moderation and account rules. If what you mainly need is a memory tool, a clear subscription term or a particular interface language, compare that feature directly instead of treating policy restrictions as something to get around.
Account removal and verification records have different scopes
Character.AI documents a web account-deletion route: Profile, Profile Settings, Account, Manage Account & Data, then Delete Account. On mobile, it is Profile, Settings, then Remove Account. Deletion is permanent. The company's October 2026 announcement says existing privacy terms still apply and export and deletion stay available during the sale process.
Age-assurance records are described separately. The provider says Character.AI does not receive the identity images submitted to Persona, and that Persona deletes biometric data within 7 days. That statement covers one category of verification data. It should not be stretched into a seven-day retention limit for chats, billing records or any other account detail.
Being able to export your data doesn't mean another service can import it. A downloaded record can keep information readable, but another platform may use different character definitions, memory tools and file formats. Store any copy somewhere suited to what it contains, especially if the conversation includes identifiers you don't need for fictional character use.
A US operator and public deletion controls make the account relationship identifiable. On their own, they don't answer every question about encryption, training or general retention. A neutral privacy assessment needs the applicable policy for each claim, not an inference drawn from a store badge or a verification vendor's deletion period.
If you are deciding whether to keep using the platform during the announced sale, the controls are concrete: keep the records you need through the export, manage renewal through the purchase channel, and use account deletion when you want permanent removal. These are separate decisions, and no single action guarantees the others.
It helps to read each control by what it affects. Subscription settings handle payment renewal, export makes a copy of information, and the permanent account-removal control handles the service account. Persona's 7-day biometric-retention statement concerns verification material. One control existing doesn't promise the result of another, which is worth remembering when comparing browser and mobile instructions.
Persona and the difference between estimation and verification
The published age-assurance process uses age estimation, a selfie check when needed and an identity-document fallback through Persona. Character.AI says it does not receive identity images and that the provider deletes biometric data within 7 days. A paid plan does not skip these checks.
An estimate and an identity-document check produce different kinds of evidence. The options an account is actually shown determine what that account has to complete. The global explanation does not set a fixed Canadian sequence for every user, so a store listing alone is not proof of a particular verification flow.
This page is for adults 18+ and discusses fictional adult characters. That editorial scope doesn't replace the platform's own account process. Provide any required information through the legitimate assurance process, and keep identity material out of ordinary character conversation. The content rules still apply after a successful check.
Follow the original billing channel
The c.ai+ FAQ describes cancelling from Profile and Cancel My Subscription. Lite guidance separates purchases made through Apple or Google from a web Stripe subscription. Store purchases are managed in that store's subscription settings; for web Lite, you open a support ticket under Payments and purchases. Under the Lite guidance, paid access lasts until the end of the current period.
These channel differences matter when a store shows several prices. A CA$12.99 item in the Canadian listing doesn't tell you which cancellation control applies to a separate web purchase, and an item with no printed duration shouldn't be given a billing interval by guesswork. Go by the actual receipt and purchase channel.
The company's 12 October announcement says subscriptions and billing continue while the platform operates during the sale process. It does not say subscriptions are cancelled automatically for everyone. Uninstalling an app, exporting chats and permanently deleting an account are also separate operations. To stop renewal, use the cancellation method documented for the paid product you actually have.
The US$94.99 annual offer is paid up front for a year. Working out a monthly equivalent is arithmetic, not evidence of a month-by-month refund rule. This review does not assign a refund entitlement where the applicable policy hasn't been established.
Dated findings need careful labels
- On 12 October 2026 the company announced a voluntary Chapter 11 sale process. It described the platform as operating, with a wind-down if no viable sale emerges. That statement does not mean the service has already closed, and it does not guarantee uninterrupted long-term service.
- The Italian Garante decision dated 3 July 2026 imposed a EUR158,000 fine and a 120-day corrective order over specified privacy-governance issues, and it allowed an appeal. The decision does not establish a Canadian service ban or the current status of any appeal or payment.
- The FTC included Character.AI in an information-gathering inquiry announced 11 September 2025. An inquiry is not a finding of unlawful conduct, and summaries of regulatory attention should keep that procedural difference clear.
- On the research date, Trustpilot showed 1.2/5 from 740 reviews, while the Canadian Apple listing showed 4.1/5 from roughly 50K ratings. Different platforms, user groups and review systems give different snapshots. Neither is an editorial quality score for this article.
- The Canadian Apple item names include Character.AI+ at CA$12.99 and CA$129.99, with no visible duration labels. These are price observations, not a confirmed monthly and yearly pair. Assigning them terms the listing doesn't print would create a billing claim the listing doesn't support.
Match the account to the requirement
If you want a large fictional-character community with advertised unlimited text, you can try the free service without assuming you need a paid tier for basic message volume. The 15 free pins make the memory tool's limit more concrete than a general claim that an AI remembers. Lite's 30 pins and fewer ads suit a different set of preferences.
If you need assured long-term continuity, that is a separate concern, because the announced process makes continuation depend on a viable sale. A prepaid annual term deserves more thought than a free conversation account. If you need a precise Canadian monthly price, you also need the actual term attached to the store item, not a guess based on its amount.
The broader companion comparison separates recurring messages, samples and metered paid features. The Canada purchasing guide covers local currency and tax. Neither comparison treats a higher memory-pin count or a lower advertised price as proof of better dialogue.
What we like
- Advertised unlimited text for ordinary fictional-character conversation
- Free and Lite pin counts are clearly different
What could be better
- The announced sale process gives no assurance of long-term continuity
- Paid access does not remove content restrictions
- Store item prices need their actual billing periods checked
What Reddit users say
seriously. i don’t even like using character ai anymore but i stay in this reddit just to chuckle at ppl crashing out or uniting as a community whenever the website shuts down lol
From what I gathered from the documents, in simple words, it’s basically this: Disney wants to buy Character.AI’s technology, but the states think Disney is getting unfair advantages that make it harder for other buyers to compete. They want a fairer deal.
Public comments quoted with a link to the thread. Opinions of their authors, not ours.
Frequently asked questions
Has Character.AI already closed?
The 12 October 2026 announcement describes the platform as operating during a voluntary Chapter 11 sale process. It says continued operation needs a viable sale and that a wind-down would follow without one. Those statements are conditional on the outcome. They do not say access has already ended.
What is free, and what changes with Lite?
Free messaging is advertised as unlimited, though a waiting room is possible when the service is under load. The free plan has 15 memory pins. Lite lists 30 pins, fewer ads and a daily premium-style allowance, starting at US$4.99 per month with regional variation. The description gives no numerical message count for that premium-style allowance.
Does 30 memory pins mean better recall than 15?
It means room for more pinned information. It does not measure whether the model will use every detail correctly or remember unpinned parts of a conversation. Feature capacity and observed recall are different things. The pin count helps when comparing requirements, but it does not replace an actual quality assessment.
Can a subscription remove the content restrictions?
The official prohibited-content rule applies to paid users too. c.ai+ at US$9.99 monthly and Lite with 30 pins are feature offers, not a paid way out of moderation. Age verification doesn't change that separate policy either. This review covers ordinary use with fictional adults.
Is CA$12.99 a verified monthly Canadian price?
The Canadian Apple listing shows a Character.AI+ item at CA$12.99, but the visible label doesn't give a duration. The same listing shows another item under that name at CA$129.99. The amounts alone can't tell you which period each purchase covers, so read the actual term before comparing recurring cost.
Does Persona keep verification data indefinitely?
Character.AI's age-assurance guidance says Persona deletes biometric data within seven days and that Character.AI does not receive identity images. That statement describes verification material only. It is not a universal deletion period for messages or other account records.
Will billing stop automatically during the sale process?
The company announcement says subscriptions and billing continue. The published c.ai+ route uses Profile and Cancel My Subscription, while Lite guidance treats store and web purchases separately. A corporate notice does not replace the right cancellation control for a paid account.
Should a regulator inquiry be read as a finding against the service?
The FTC's September 2025 inquiry is information gathering, which is not the same as a finding of unlawful conduct. The July 2026 Garante decision is a separate enforcement action with a stated fine and corrective order. Keep each authority, date and procedural outcome tied to the specific statement.